Myths about Non-believers

Here are some of the most common unfounded myths about non-believers (Athiests, Agnostic Theists, Free-thinkers etc.) For this blogpost, I hope to dispel the wrongful assumptions made by religious believers about the Non-believers.  And I do want to remind everyone that among the non religious non-believers, there is no dogma, each non-believer represents himself and each of us have our own individual opinions, and the reason why we share so many of them is because the objective evidence led us there.

1. You just want to sin

Most believers that I have met, think that our non-belief stems from our desire to sin and because we are afraid of hell, that we delude ourselves into non-belief just so we can continue our excessive lifestyle. Using that reasoning is equivalent to using this argument “You are not a Muslim because you just want to continue eating pork.” Of course that is not it is it! You are not a Muslim because you do not believe in Allah and you do not see anything sinful with eating pork. You may not even like pork! So for the non-believers, we do not believe in hell, or the curse of sin. Or your god. Because there is a lack of evidence for us to accept your god’s existence.

2. You hate god

No. Anti-theists hate god. Non-believers do not. How do you hate something you do not believe in? Do you hate the Grinch when you find that there are no presents under the tree? No. You blame your parents. Not the Grinch. Do we hate god? No. Do we hate religion? Some of us do. Some of us don’t.

3. You have a belief too

Non-belief is not a belief. Just like how abstinence is not a sex position. Or not playing chess is a hobby. But of course there will be arguments like ” It takes a certain kind of belief that all of these order comes without a creator.” This is an appeal to ignorance. Just because we don’t know, doesn’t equate to god. In the past, we couldn’t explain why the sun rises and set, we said god pulled the sun. Now, we learnt about how the sun gives the illusion of rising and setting because of the Earth’s rotation on its axis and we are able to explain it. God has been our explanation for things we cannot explain since the beginning of mankind. Non-believers recognize that, and realizes that “I don’t know”= “I don’t know”. Plus this argument assumes that we have to know what is, in order to know what isn’t. But that is not the case, I’m not an expert on cars, I have no idea how they work and so if someone asked me how cars are able to move, I really couldn’t tell them. But if someone told me that there is are twenty hamsters inside running on a wheel which powers the car, I would be more that just a bit skeptical of such a claim. In truth, I would call such a claim ridiculous and so would you. Even though I don’t personally know how cars work, I am reasonably certain that hamsters are not involved. I would need to see some pretty solid evidence to convince me otherwise. So, even though I do not understand everything about how life came about etc. I do have enough amount of information to discredit the other religions plus a severe lack of evidence on the part of religion to conclude with a fair amount of certainty that a particular’s god does not exist.

4. You believe in the theory of evolution

I do not believe in the theory of evolution. I understand it. “But you need faith to believe in evolution” Faith is an acceptance of something without evidence. Evolution has an overwhelming amount of evidence to support it. “But you have to believe in it because it just a theory, it has not been proven.” In everyday usage, we do use theory as guesswork and hunches. However, within the scientific community, the word theory means a well-substantiated, well documented, well-supported explanation for our observations through testing. Just like the theory of gravity.Evolution is supported by a wide range of observations throughout the fields of genetics, anatomy, ecology, animal behavior, paleontology, and others. If you wish to challenge the theory of evolution as a belief of faith, you must address that evidence and explain why it is wrong or unsupported.

5. You are immoral because you reject god

If you put a non-believer in a room full of believers, chances are you won’t be able to identify one from their behaviors. Just because we do not believe in your god, does not mean we do not have morals. We all have morals. And we think that morality comes from ourselves, not the bible. To perhaps prove this point, I would like to say that in the bible, we are asked to stone gays, pay 30 silver coins for rape, to brand our slaves and pass them down to our sons etc. but we don’t follow those rules anymore. Choosing which part of the bible to believe in, suggests that morality is within us. And we do not need the bible to tell us what is right or wrong. Plus, when faced with moral dilemmas, one does not have to refer to the bible to know what one has to do. We hold responsibility over our actions and we understand that we should treat people like how we want to be treated ourselves.

6. You are arrogant to think that you do not have a creator

I actually think its a much more arrogant position to think we are the center of the universe.That we are not animals. That god created this incredibly huge universe, so that we can live on a speck of his creation. That when we pray, we can amend the will of god. That your religion is the one true religion. Here’s a quote to explain the arrogance of religious thinking, “the supreme arrogance of religious thinking:That a carbon-based bag of mostly water on a speck of iron-silicate dust around a boring dwarf star in a minor galaxy in an underpopulated group of galaxies in an unfashionable suburb of a supercluster would look up at the sky and declare “it was all made so I could exist”.” Peter Walker  I do not think the world was made for me, nor do i think that some all powerful god would take trouble to help me find my car keys. I am a product of chance, I am an animal that has evolved relatively higher cognitive functions among my peers in the animal kingdom.

7. Your life has no purpose

This is my take on this. Freedom from religion can offer a freeing and positive world view where you can govern your own destiny. The meaning of life becomes a more personal question. Without a belief in a personal god, the universe is still a beautiful and amazing place. Scientific discovery emerges as the best way to continue uncovering the wonders of life and improving our prosperity. Natural disasters and misery become things we can address without accepting “God’s will.” No personal god means we must take responsibility to protect the world and each other. With no eternal salvation we must treasure the life we have and make it the best life we possibly can. Click here: https://unconfirmedabsolutes.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/a-lifetime/

More to be updated…

7 thoughts on “Myths about Non-believers

  1. Hello my friend here are just a few of my thoughts:

    “And I do want to remind everyone that among the non religious non-believers, there is no dogma..” I’m not buying it.
    “We all have morals. And we think that morality comes from ourselves…” Is that a dogma?

    I actually don’t think its a dogma. I know quite a few atheists who do not believe in morals at all (often for the same sort of reasons they reject God – they don’t think there is enough evidence) or if they do believe in them they do not believe they come from ourselves. Are you saying all morality is made up by us?

    Hmm. Actually there are allot of what I would call Dogmas of typical atheist bloggers.

    For example they never tend to cite the bible unless it is some relatively obscure old testament passage where Jews killed others or its talking about prices for slavery or rape. They also post cartoons which are intended to draw on emotion to convince by embarrassing believers. If atheist bloggers don’t hate God why do they call him so many names? As far as sinning it seems it is the rare atheist blog that doesn’t at some point argue that it is wrong for Christians to consider one thing or another a sin abortion, and sexual behavior are quite most common types. You are right its irrational for atheists to reject God for these reasons yet why do they post about so often if they know its irrational?

    “Belief is an acceptance of something without evidence.” I never heard that before. You can change the meanings of words if you want but it will just make discussions more difficult. You seem to think all belief is blind faith.

    “No personal god means we must take responsibility to protect the world and each other.”
    Or not.

    • Hi Trueandreasonable!

      I am really glad that you consider me as a friend! (Regardless of whether its just a form of greeting, hahaha) As always, thank you so much for taking time to read and give your two cents on my blogpost. Here are my thoughts on your thoughts(thoughtception, hahah):

      A dogma is a principle or set of principles laid down by an authority as incontrovertibly true. It serves as part of the primary basis of an ideology, nationalism or belief system, and it cannot be changed or discarded without affecting the very system’s paradigm, or the ideology itself. So here are my reasons on why Non-belief is not a dogma.
      1) I mentioned this already, but I would like to re-emphasize it, our principles and values comes innately from ourselves, from our environment and genetics, we do not follow them based on authority. We do not have an authority telling us “Believing in a non-existent god is bad, therefore do not believe.” Whether or not we think that believing in a god is bad, is entirely up to ourselves. “For example they never tend to cite the bible unless it is some relatively obscure old testament passage where Jews killed others or its talking about prices for slavery or rape. They also post cartoons which are intended to draw on emotion to convince by embarrassing believers. ” That is not a dogma, because no authority figure tells all of the non-believers to do all those things, to offend etc. Whether they choose to offend, is because they feel the need to and not because they are following a set of principles set by an authority.

      2) It is not a dogma because we do not exert the non-existence’s of god or anything as incontrovertibly true. Our thoughts and opinions change along with the evidence presented to us. It is not fixed but fluid.

      So no, non-believers do not have a dogma, but I think what you are trying to say, is that they can be dogmatic. Which I agree. Because some of the non-believers see religion as a poison that needs to be eradicated and would passionately fight against it.

      And for ” If atheist bloggers don’t hate God why do they call him so many names? ” Could I have some links to these blogs? I suspect they might be anti-theist wrongfully labeling themselves as Atheist, thinking its the same thing. Or it could also be that these non-believers are translating their hate for religion by insulting your god, knowing it would elicit a negative response among the believers. but once again, I repeat, not all non-believers hate religions and not all of them are rational, we non-believers represent ourselves, we can be fat, good, evil, short, tall, lawyers, homeless, african, asian etc. we take all shapes and sizes with only one main thing in common, our non-belief.

      “You are right its irrational for atheists to reject God for these reasons yet why do they post about so often if they know its irrational?” I do not really understand what you mean by this statement. Please elaborate 😀

      ““Belief is an acceptance of something without evidence.” I never heard that before. You can change the meanings of words if you want but it will just make discussions more difficult. You seem to think all belief is blind faith.” You are right. HAHAHA. I will correct it straight away. Its faith. Not belief. And perhaps to justify my mistake, I would like to share that I had a sleepover last night, so….I wasn’t in the right state of mind. But yes, I will edit it straight away! Thanks for pointing it out.

      “No personal god means we must take responsibility to protect the world and each other.” Yes this is my own personal view. You are right to say “or not”.

      With regards,
      Unconfirmedabsolutes

      • Faith is belief and trust in God.

        Your definition makes all faith “blind faith”

        As far as the name calling check check for yourself. Look under the tag atheism. If at least 5 of the first 10 blogs do not have blog where the author calls God a name then fine. If not maybe you would agree most atheist bloggers seem angry at God.

        “we do not follow them based on authority. ” You think no authorities – parents, teachers, celebrities, political figures such as Stalin or communists, teach others to be atheists? Many of the things you hear repeated on the various blogs are not so far different than what Stalin taught.

        “It is not a dogma because we do not exert the non-existence’s of god or anything as incontrovertibly true. Our thoughts and opinions change along with the evidence presented to us. It is not fixed but fluid.” I’m not so sure. You can assert this but the evidence I see is different.

        “I mentioned this already, but I would like to re-emphasize it, our principles and values comes innately from ourselves, from our environment and genetics, we do not follow them based on authority.” All atheists are relativists?

  2. Hi trueandreasonable!

    Yay! I consider you my friend too! (Or at least as close to a friend as strangers who have never met can be on the internet)

    “As far as the name calling check check for yourself. Look under the tag atheism. If at least 5 of the first 10 blogs do not have blog where the author calls God a name then fine. If not maybe you would agree most atheist bloggers seem angry at God.” Nope, I do not even see a single atheist blogger calling god a name. Unless you regard “Tyrant” as names, then yes, But that does not mean they hate god! They are just describing god’s character based on the bible should he exist. But if you think words like “Tyrant” is fine, then, I do not find any god naming on word press. However, if you are talking about Youtube, then yes. That’s where all the hate and trolls spew and breed, The internet gives a mob effect to these people, because they can get away with it. But no Atheists do not hate god, maybe the followers, maybe the religion itself. because to hate something, they have to believe in it, and if they believe it, they are not Atheists. They are non-theists.

    “You think no authorities – parents, teachers, celebrities, political figures such as Stalin or communists, teach others to be atheists? Many of the things you hear repeated on the various blogs are not so far different than what Stalin taught.” Stalin forced everyone to be atheist. He made it a law. People can follow the law but still have a secret belief/disbelief in god. The difference between a priest and Stalin, is that Stalin created his own rules, whereas a priest follows the rules of the bible. So I am going to re-emphasize once again, each atheist have their own rules of conduct, morality, ethics and values. Just because someone enforces their beliefs, values, morality on the rest of the world, does not make them an Atheist. If you still do not understand, do give a holler!

    ““It is not a dogma because we do not exert the non-existence’s of god or anything as incontrovertibly true. Our thoughts and opinions change along with the evidence presented to us. It is not fixed but fluid.” I’m not so sure. You can assert this but the evidence I see is different.” Please share with me your evidence! Atheism is the lack of a belief in god, not the rejection of god. The rejection of the belief. Those are two very different things! You just have to present objective evidence, and I am sure most of the atheists would convert straight away!

    “I mentioned this already, but I would like to re-emphasize it, our principles and values comes innately from ourselves, from our environment and genetics, we do not follow them based on authority. all atheists are relativist?” Like I said, we do not have a dogma, some believe in absolutes, some don’t. The only thing that we share is the need for objective evidence to believe in something.

    P.s I haven’t gotten back to you for my other posts, I will once I find the time! But thank you so so much for constantly discussing with me. It is always a pleasure.

    With regards,
    Unconfirmedabsolutes

  3. As a kid, I was made to believe that people who didn’t believe in God were actually Satanists. That, or they are likely to rob you, murder you, or rape you. When I thought of an atheist, I pictured a large scary man on hard drugs. I pictured someone lurking around alleyways, waiting to snatch me up and kill me. At the least, Atheists must be mean, grouchy, judgmental, terrible people…right? Now that I am 20, and I have come to terms with my own disbelief in God, I find that I am often judged this way. In reality, I love people so much that it’s hard for me to function with my own interests in mind sometimes. I try my hardest to respect and accept people regardless of their beliefs. I come in contact with many beautiful, amazing, loving people from many different religions. HOWEVER, I also come in contact with many who don’t have any qualms about reminding me that I’m going to burn in hell. They don’t have any trouble telling my gay friends that they deserve to die. They feel weird about me being around their kids. They might like me because they assume by my demeanor that I am Christian, but when they find that I am not, they suddenly don’t like me as much anymore. Even in places that seem safe, where every religion, sex, race, and type of person seems to be accepted, I often feel outcast because my lack of religion makes people uncomfortable. Recently, I went to campus to watch the Nye/Ham debate. I was around many like-minded people, I felt comfortable. Then…there was this guy. He literally said that he would take a bullet for because that’s what God told him to do, but that if he didn’t have religion-he wouldn’t. That baffled me. I would take a bullet for someone. I like to think that I would anyway. I would save a child if I felt that their life was in danger. If my best friends, fellow employees, neighbors or family were in danger, I would do what I could to protect them. I am a good person. I am comfortable with myself. I am accepting. I am willing to learn and have respectful conversation. I am so tired of being misjudged by people…especially people who’s’ religion is supposed to advocate acceptance in the first place.

    • Hi CharityLeigh!

      Thank you for sharing with me a bit of your story, I know its hard to be misjudged by others as immoral, stubborn and untruthful, but stay strong, be involved in dispelling the myths, be kind, not nice(There’s a difference, being nice means you are putting on a false social pretense) to those around you. Accept their right to have their opinions but not the right to have their own facts. Keep asking, keep exploring, keep being yourself and if you ever need someone to talk to, I am one of the millions out there you can talk to 🙂 We are not alone.

      Best regards,
      Unconfirmedabsolutes

Leave a Reply

